The tale of a two sisters!

When I came into this world my parents like all new parents, were super excited with my arrival. Their world revolved around me. My demands/wishes were their priority. My over excited parents saw in me the fulfiller of their unaccomplished dreams. My father began proclaiming “When my daughter grows up she would make us proud”. My head would swell whenever I heard this. This saga continued for as long as 6 years. 

6 years later came my sister taking away from me my cult status. She garnered all the attention and was showered with all the love. I was now suddenly raised to the position of the responsible older sister! When she was old enough to play with me I had to deliberately lose to her and if I ever dared to win against she would claw me with her nails or bite me until I ran towards my mum or grand-mum to save myself from being nailed and bitten off! Years passed like this while I played the demure older sister and she an outspoken brat. She was all that I was not….. a naughty, talkative, and troublesome brat 🙂

Then came a major blow in our lives when I was 19 and she barely 13. She was saddled with the responsibility of running  a household while I stayed away in hostel. My outspoken, not-at-all-politically-correct sister was thrust with the responsibility of cooking, cleaning maintaining accounts of the house. This responsibility made her grow beyond her age while I had my share of fun in the hostel. And without both of us realizing it, our roles were reversed. The sister was no longer the brash little girl she once was. She now became the coy girl who had seen the uncertainties of life very early for her age. And I on the other hand decided “I have already had my share of adjustments….now let me live on my own terms”. 

What remained constant in both us were our prominent characteristics. We are still poles apart ;). She is an extrovert… a people’s person while I am an introvert. In a social gathering you will find her happily chirping to glory while you will find me sulking in a corner.  In my neighborhood  I am  introduced as my sister’s older sister 😀

The little sister is every parent’s pride while I am er…never mind 🙂 Having a younger sister like mine comes with a set of disadvantages. The pressure to behave well is just tremendous. There will be people who go like “Look at her, she is so younger than you but how understanding she is!”  But the fact that I look smaller (read thinner) than my sister helps. Some people who do not know us so well assume that I am the younger one of the two 🙂

So, what is your sibling story?

24 thoughts on “The tale of a two sisters!

  1. Sis and I are very different too. I am a chatterbox while people don’t even come to know that she is home 😛 Well, it is not the same when nobody is around though 😉 That’s where she uses all her energy hehe 😉

    • I guess you guys are like us just that in our case the older one is the quieter! I do talk to people… to the ones who can make me comfortable and engage in an interesting conversation 🙂

  2. There are too many stories about us 3 brothers… ! I had two younger bro’s !!! Imagine.. they were twins… 4 years younger and I like you felt… all my importance was finished !!!! Sigh…. I was even going to once run away when in 10th standard… as I was sure my Mom didn’t like me and that she wanted my two bros too… but now when I look back and I think I am a little wiser… I guess Mom was only fair… she had lots to cope… raising 3 brats and remaining sane… ! sigh… But we 3 bro’s had a lot of fun… never was my camaraderie with them of the sort they both shared with each other… I guess being twins they connected to each other a lot mroe than I did… but well… I have written about it a lot… but its all in separate posts and kinda not always together… maybe I will do a post on relationships wiht my bro’s ! 😀

  3. My sibling story? Hated my brother and there were days when I wud feel like hitting his head on the wall….now better sense has prevailed and despite seeing North & South we get along well 😀

    But yes I hate the fact that siblings need to behave in same manner or we all shud be good….baah!

  4. How inevitably the life forces you to change roles. Well in my case ,I had a bro who was 7 years elder and hence our fights got bigger and bigger with time 🙂

  5. My sister is also six years younger than me. Though seemingly poles apart only now we are discovering how similar we are in a lot of things our thinking, out attitude towards lot of things, reactions in diff situation, dislike for same people etc etc…. Guess that’s he upbringing plays a major role, few things r just sown in u from the very beginning. And she is my biggest weakness too.

    • Your sister too is 6 years younger…same pinch 😀

      I guess the sister and I are a little different because we were never together in our growing up years! I was more like a visitor 🙂 visiting only during vacations. But I realise we do have a few similarities as well but very few 🙂

Leave a Reply

